Reviews

USSD Laguna Beach Dojo 

Martial Arts Reviews and Karate School Testimonials in Name Of Laguna Beach, CA


We pride ourselves on being recognized as a Top Rated Martial Arts School by Go2Karate.com. We hope your user experience on our karate website was friendly and easy to find.



Are you NEW to martial arts?



Then don’t forget to check out all of the other reviews and see what others saying about our community service, martial arts instructors, MA programs, and much more. We take pride in teaching a high quality martial arts, customer service and our online reputation. 


Are You a CURRENT Student?

Please feel free to leave USSD Laguna Beach Dojo a review and let others know what you think. Our school works on a referral basis and we need your help to show our community what we can do for them from Karate kids to adults.

Karate greatly aided her confidence and healing

My daughter took Karate from USSD in Laguna Beach for a few years. Sensei Kash and Sensei Angela were incredible, as were any other sensei who trained and taught her during those years. At the time, she had Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis and was incredibly shy. Karate greatly aided her confidence and healing. I would recommend Continue Reading

Stephanie Byerly August 2, 2018

Sensai’s Jeff and Andrea, have been incredible instructors and mentors

I can’t say enough about our fortunate experience with United Studios of Self Defense! My son has been a student for approximately 11 years and recently acquired his Black Belt. This achievement, prior to leaving for college, can be compared to no other. The discipline, focused attention, peer support and physical challenge after all of Continue Reading

Dena Rubin (Mother of a Black Belt attending NYU) August 2, 2018

Sensei Angela and Sensei Kash are amazing !

I have training at the Laguna Beach Dojo for seven going on eight years, and have loved every minute of it. Not only have I learned to defend myself, I have gained so much confidence. Sensei Angela and Sensei Kash are amazing and have been there every step of the way through my training. I Continue Reading

Ken B. August 2, 2018

This dojo is all about community

This dojo is all about community. They give back in a variety of ways: Toys for Tots, Relay for Life and more and they also give back to their students. For my child, it’s about learning patience, discipline, what it’s like to win and to lose with honor, practicing towards a goal. My child read Continue Reading

Gina R. August 2, 2018

Everyone has a great positive attitude

I’ve been going here for years now! I’ve learned so much! I’ve had a couple different trainers, and everyone has a great positive attitude. I am so much stronger as a whole person now than I ever was before training here. Martial arts at its best! Oh and they cater to kids too, they’re extremely Continue Reading

Blair Hurst August 2, 2018

I’m in better shape now than I was in my twenties

I’m 47 years old and have been training at the USSD Laguna Beach dojo intermittently for 7 years. No other fitness regimen has done more for my mind, body–and, yes, as corny as it sounds–soul than my Kung Fu practice at USSD. I am turning 48 on May 5th and I’m in better shape now Continue Reading

Silia Hatzi (Business Owner and Marketing Consultant) August 2, 2018

A wonderful atmosphere for our kids

United Studios DoJo is a wonderful atmosphere for our kids to learn karate and other life skills in a fun, safe and clean environment. They love it!

Caroline August 2, 2018

We just love the teaching team and all aspects of this studio!

Our family has been involved in the Laguna Beach United Studios of Self Defense for 4 years now and our children love attending and have grown in their Karate practice and have grown in confidence. We just love the teaching team and all aspects of this studio!

Kerry Nugent August 2, 2018

I learn new things each and every class

Since I walked into the dojo, day one, I could not wait to come back. I am fulfilling a childhood dream. This experience is making me proud of myself, while teaching me about myself. I learn new things each and every class. I grow here. Thank you, both very much.

Stacy Colledge August 2, 2018

The most professional and talented Sensei’s

There’s nothing like learning the art of self-defense from two of the most professional and talented Sensei’s while having fun. I highly recommend the Laguna Beach Dojo if you’re contemplating learning self-defense or just want a fun way to exercise and get in/stay in shape.

Leslie LeBon (Architect) August 2, 2018

The spirit, dedication, and quality of the training is outstanding.

I have been training there for 3 years along with my 10 year old son. The spirit, dedication, and quality of the training is outstanding. All the instructors are both technically and instructionally excellent. There is a real sense of community among the dojo students, parents, and staff. The studio also projects itself locally in Continue Reading

Manrique Brenes (Business Executive) August 2, 2018

The martial arts training is the best

This is not just martial arts training, it’s all life skills! Sensei Kash is completely committed to the kids as a moral and ethical person who will make the world a better place. That said, the martial arts training is the best, with high expectation of both honor, skill and form.

Amy Yoder August 2, 2018

Has grown in confidence, respect and is learning martial arts skills

Our five year old has been at the dojo for the past year and it has been such a wonderful experience for him. He has grown in confidence, respect and is learning martial arts skills along the way. The teaching staff makes learning fun for little ones while emphasizing technical precision. My son especially loves Continue Reading

Jaime Jameson (mother of two and teacher at El Morro Elementary) August 2, 2018

One of the best places to help students learn self-defense

Laguna Beach’s USSD Dojo is one of the best places to help students learn self defense, focus, confidence and strength. The Senseis don’t just teach forms and defense moves but also teach self control and restraint. The Senseis are excellent role models who really want to see every student succeed in their training and life Continue Reading

Amy Kramer (Mother of 3, Real Estate Agent, two oldest kids are both 2nd degree black belts and are attending UCLA) August 2, 2018

Staff are professional yet approachable and friendly

My daughter has enjoyed attending this dojo since day one and learns something new at every session. It is a welcoming environment for kids of all ages. My daughter’s self-confidence has grown and she looks forward to each lesson and towards improving her knowledge and technique at every level. Staff are professional yet approachable and Continue Reading

Liora Hahn August 2, 2018

I highly recommend this studio

My son has attended lessons there for three years and has been extremely happy. They have helped him boost his confidence and self control. I highly recommend this studio.

Christine Relf (now an instructor at our Irvine location) August 2, 2018

This is a great dojo!

This is a great dojo. A dojo can only be as good as it’s Sensei and Sensei Kash is the best. He is not just a phenomenal martial artist but also a skilled teacher. I’ve trained from white belt all the way to black and working on my second degree. If you are a beginner Continue Reading

Michael McFadden Owner at Rock Martin Jewelers August 2, 2018

What a wonderful place for our 5 year old twins!

What a wonderful place for our 5 year old twins! The boys are learning discipline, listening and following directions, & mind/ body control and gaining confidence. Jeff’s classes are filled with structure while being fun!

Tara T. August 2, 2018

This amazing place has changed our son in such a positive way

This amazing place has changed our son in such a positive way. He joined when he was 4 years old, shy of adults and older kids, and scared to try new things. In just a short time, he became confident and strong. He learned how to understand and control his emotions. At 5, he’s thriving Continue Reading

Allison Hushek August 2, 2018

My daughter’s favorite place

The USSD Laguna Beach Dojo is my daughter’s favorite place. She has been a student there for eight years; her goal is to get her black belt. The Senseis are knowledgeable as well as friendly and welcoming. Jeff and Angela have become more than instructors; they are like family. Should you be interested in learning Continue Reading

Martha Bladergroen Mother August 2, 2018

My child loves the USSD Laguna Beach Dojo

My child loves the USSD Laguna Beach Dojo. She is learning self defense, balance, discipline, self-control , respect, etc. Most of all she is having fun during classes. My daughter absolutely loves to practice there. They are very good with kids. There is no yelling or tapping the kid with rulers, etc. They are very Continue Reading

Olga Simon August 2, 2018

Provides a positive environment for all ages

USSD Laguna Beach Dojo provides a positive environment for all ages to learn the art of karate. But really, it is so much more – inner strength, personal growth, self discipline and respect are also taught, even good report cards are recognized! My son has benefited in countless ways from his years here – Thank Continue Reading

Melia Flowers August 2, 2018